Surfshark VPN Review 2021

9.4/10
Both cheap and great
Last updated: April 5, 2021

Surfshark offers all the features you want from a top-notch VPN. It has watertight security, uncompromising anonymity, very fast speeds, all for an incredibly affordable price.

Minimum Price:
$2.49 / month
Apps available:
windows macos ios linux firetv chrome firefox
Works with:
appletv router
Alternative VPN options
1. NordVPN
9.6 / 10
Excellent security
Very fast speeds
2. VyprVPN
9.3 / 10
Good price/quality ratio

Disclaimer: Affiliate links help us produce good content. Learn more.

Disclaimer: Affiliate links help us produce good content. Learn more.

Since its launch in 2018, Surfshark VPN has managed to penetrate most Top 10s and earn the consumers’ trust.

I wanted to learn whether that trust was warranted, so I set out to answer the key questions, such as:

  • Is it a secure VPN?
  • Does it log user data?
  • And crucially, how good is it for torrenting and Netflix?

It turns out this VPN ticks all the boxes, including speed, unlimited simultaneous connections, easy-to-use apps, and even prices, which are better than most competitor’s.

Read my in-depth Surfshark VPN review to see all the test results.

Overview

Rank #2 out of 215 providers
Company location British Virgin Islands (BVI)
Website surfshark.com
Number of countries covered 65
Number of servers 3200
Unblocks Netflix Yes
Safe for Torrenting Yes
Encryption AES-256
Protocols WireGuard, OpenVPN, IKEv2
Customer Support 24/7 live chat, FAQ
Logging policy No-logs policy
Price From $2.49/month
Free version or trial 7-day free trial
Smart DNS Yes

Surfshark video review

First 100% accurate Surfshark VPN speed test review 🔥 Tested with 2 speed tools
2021-02-03
Surfshark VPN review 🔥 Is it a new BEST VPN for you in 2021!?
2021-01-08
Surfshark Year in Review 2020 💥 Find out ALL the UPGRADES Surfshark did in 2020
2020-11-28

Speed: is Surfshark VPN fast?

Surfshark is one of the fastest VPN services in 2021, as our in-house VPN speed testing tool has shown. No matter which country you connect from, this provider will compete with the best of the best.

We regularly run speed tests from servers in the US, the UK, and other countries.

Surfshark VPN 14-Day Speed Average

More live data from our VPN Speed Test tool
USA server
Download Speed 876 Mbps
Upload Speed 833 Mbps
UK server
Download Speed 697 Mbps
Upload Speed 626 Mbps
Germany server
Download Speed 565 Mbps
Upload Speed 609 Mbps

As you can see from the results, the speeds with the WireGuard protocol are really fast, especially if we compare with the competitors that still use OpenVPN. The upload is also way above the most VPNs, no matter which country you choose. So what do these numbers mean, really?

For starters, you should be able to stream 4K (UHD) videos and play online games on your continent, unless your continent is huge. You shouldn’t experience lag during video and VOIP calls, which put the ping limit at 200 ms, but contacting someone on the other side of the globe might take its toll. Finally, downloading a 10 GB torrent file might take less than 3 minutes.

The speeds seem to be increasing each time I update this Surfshark VPN review. There’s obviously a lot of investment going into this VPN. While it is on the TOP of the fastest VPNs list in 2021, I believe its speed will continue to improve.

Server list and locations

Surfshark VPN has a solid server list. It consists of 3200+ servers in 65+ countries.

Surfshark VPN server locations

Here’s how the server coverage looks across the globe:

LocationCountries
The Americas9+
Europe35+
Africa, the Middle East, and India6+
Asia Pacific12+

As always, North America and Europe have the best coverage. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the three countries in Africa. Mostly you get South Africa only or no servers whatsoever.

All servers are physical and RAM-only, which means you can expect better performance and more security. Surfshark doesn’t own all of its servers, and few providers do, but I believe it’s only a matter of time.

Pricing: is Surfshark the cheapest top-tier VPN?

Surfshark VPN has three different pricing plans, all of which offer the full set of functions, including military-grade encryption, kill switch, and unlimited simultaneous connections:

  • 1-month plan for $12.95
  • 6-month plan for $6.49/month
  • 2-year plan for $2.49/month

Note: VPN providers like to change prices often. Secure the best Surfshark deal in 2021.

Surfshark price for extra features - Alert and Search

For an extra $0.99/month, you can get Alert and Search security features. The former informs if your email is leaked, and the latter removes ads logging from the web search.

These are great prices – their 2-year plan is actually one of the cheapest deals on the block. Surfshark VPN has certainly proven their worth, and the prospect of getting a long-term subscription should no longer be particularly worrying. If you can get the tool for just a couple of bucks, I’m inclined to say, “Go for it!”

Payment options

There are plenty of payment options you can choose from to pay that 2-dollar fee as well. That includes anonymous options, like crypto. There are PayPal, Sofort, Direct Debit, Google Pay, Amazon Pay, Giropay, and Webmoney as well, for those interested. Some of the best VPN service providers have overlooked the type of privacy given by a crypto payment option, and it’s a great shame.

Surfshark free trial

Surfshark is also one of the few to offer a lengthy 7-day free trial on Google Play and Apple App Store. This means that you’ll need an Android, macOS, or iOS device to get it. After creating the account, you’ll be able to install Windows and other clients as well.

One thing to point out – Surfshark still asks for payment info before unlocking the service. The good thing is that if you miss the free trial deadline, you will still be able to cancel during the 30-day money-back guarantee period.

How to refund Surfshark

Surfshark’s refund policy grants a 30-day money-back guarantee to all plans and all devices, so you’re not losing anything if you don’t want to. Getting your money back involves contacting customer support. But since it has a 24/7 live chat, this shouldn’t be a problem.

In fact, you can also schedule the cancellation in advance and use the VPN right until the last day.

As always, accounts paid in cryptocurrencies aren’t refundable.

Surfshark security and privacy

There’s plenty of good to say about the privacy and anonymity credentials of Surfshark VPN. Here’s a shortlist of its main features that will keep you safe online:

  • Military-grade encryption
  • No-logs policy
  • Privacy-friendly jurisdiction
  • Kill switch
  • Leak protection

However, that’s just the tip of the iceberg. The provider had its browser extensions audited by Cure53, a well-known and respected cybersecurity company. And since July 2020, all Surfshark servers are RAM-only.

Additionally, you’ll get malware blocker (CleanWeb), split tunneling (Whitelister), multi-hop, and “stealth protocol” (Camouflage and NoBorders). This VPN also offers ID protection (Alert), GPS spoofing, and incognito search (Search).

These features combined take Surfshark VPN very close to other security-focused VPN services, like NordVPN or ProtonVPN.

Encryption and tunneling protocols

Surfshark VPN implements military-grade encryption, which is used by financial institutions and militaries around the world. It means that there’s virtually no way to break this cipher.

Surfshark currently offers the following tunneling protocols:

  • WireGuard
  • OpenVPN TCP
  • OpenVPN UDP
  • IKEv2/IPsec
  • Shadowsocks

Surfshark VPN tunneling protocols in advanced options

In October 2020, this VPN implemented the next-gen tunneling protocol in WireGuard. It’s faster and more secure than any other protocol available. The speed advantage can be clearly seen by checking our VPN speed testing tool results. Windows, macOS, Android, and iOS users can now select WireGuard, which also uses a new ChaCha20 symmetric encryption.

While neither can penetrate the Great Firewall alone, Surfshark VPN has Camouflage and NoBorders modes for use in China.

Surfshark’s kill switch

Surfshark has a great kill switch that will automatically deactivate your internet connection if your VPN connection drops unexpectedly. This allows the Virtual Private Network to protect your privacy by ensuring your online traffic is always encrypted and is a critical feature for any secure VPN to have.

Surfshark VPN kill switch feature

My tests have shown the kill switch to work reliably each time I deliberately disabled my VPN connection.

The only caveat here is that the Linux app doesn’t have the kill switch turned on by default, and there’s no article on their website telling how to do it. However, the always helpful Surfshark customer support team provided me with the instructions.

IP and DNS leak protection

My basic tests indicate that Surfshark has no leak issues. I connected to a server in Denmark at got the IP address 95.174.65.70. Then I ran the test and got the following results: no DNS, WebRTC, or IPv6 leaks, as the image below indicates.

Surfshark IP and DNS leak test

The IP and DNS addresses shown here are the same as the one I got assigned by Surfshark. If I saw my real IP address, that would mean there’s a leak somewhere.

This service has in-built DNS, WebRTC, and IPv6 leak protection, as well as a private zero-knowledge DNS network. Simply put, unlike many tools on the market, Surfshark VPN keeps your personally-identifiable information hidden.

Privacy-friendly location: BVI

Surfshark is based in the British Virgin Islands (BVI), a British overseas territory with no data retention laws and isn’t involved in any intelligence-sharing agreements, such as Fourteen Eyes. It’s also not subject to any EU data protection laws, unlike its “parent” country.

This has allowed Surfshark to put out a robust Privacy Policy that should put users at ease regarding any potential overreach from government agencies or copyright protection firms. Therefore, if one of them decided to approach with a subpoena aimed at getting information about you, it would be rejected.

No logs policy

As the company is subject to BVI laws and regulations, they have the luxury of a meaningful no-logs policy, which states that Surfshark “does not collect IP addresses, browsing history, session information, used bandwidth, connection timestamps, network traffic, and other similar data.”

Excerpt from Surfshark VPN privacy policy

As a matter of fact, if their FAQ is to be believed, Surfshark doesn’t log anything at all, except your email address and billing information, which means that the provider is one of the few actual “no-logs” VPNs out there. That’s extremely rare and impressive, but I would also like to see their policy independently-audited to silence the naysayers once and for all.

Browser extension independent security audit

In 2018, Surfshark did an independent audit of its Chrome and Firefox browser extensions. Submitting your VPN apps for an independent audit is a commendable move regardless of the results.

The audit was carried out by a respected German cybersecurity company, Cure53, which also performed the very first independent VPN audit in 2017 (kudos to TunnelBear).

In short, Cure53 found only two vulnerabilities, only one of which had any potential to cause problems for users. This is an outstanding result and gives a lot of credence to this VPN service provider.

You can read the full report on Surfshark’s website.

Does Surfshark work in China?

Since the introduction of the Camouflage and NoBorders modes, this service is capable of disguising VPN traffic. These features switch from the default tunneling protocol to OpenVPN with the XOR patch, scrambling your traffic and confusing the censors. As a result, Surfshark VPN is great for China.

You will be able to unblock restricted websites, such as Facebook, and keep your identity protected at all times. Therefore, if you’re a journalist or a whistleblower, you can trust that this VPN will protect you.

CleanWeb antimalware tool

CleanWeb is another great feature from Surfshark. It works as an ad and tracking blocker but can also detect malware. Even more, CleanWeb might detect phishing attempts and protect your personal information.

Surfshark CleanWeb feature

This tool works on all major platforms, including browsers and Amazon Fire TV. Using it on your smartphone can save mobile data and even increase browsing speeds. After loading all those ads and pop-ups takes a toll.

Whitelister

Most VPN providers call this feature “split tunneling.” Surfshark’s Whitelister allows users to choose apps that can function outside the VPN tunnel. It’s especially convenient when you want to protect only certain activities and run others at full speed.

Surfshark VPN Whitelister feature

For example, you may want to use a VPN to protect your torrenting and watch Netflix in 4K simultaneously on your smart TV. Also, some websites might not work if they detect you using a VPN. Finally, with Whitelister, you’ll be able to access your network devices, such as printers.

MultiHop (Double VPN)

Also known as Double VPN, MultiHop is a feature that connects you to two VPN servers instead of one. This means much higher security, thanks to the double-encryption of your data. MultiHop is great for those who seek maximum protection online, including journalists and political activists.

Surfshark MultiHop (Double VPN) feature

Surfshark lists all possible Double VPN connections next to the regular server selection. One thing to note: your connection will be considerably slower, so this mode is not recommended for day-to-day use unless you don’t have a choice.

Camouflage and NoBorders modes

Camouflage mode, or “stealth VPN,” disguises your VPN traffic, so it looks like it’s coming from a regular connection. It’s a useful feature because some websites block VPNs and in some countries, using them is illegal.

Surfshark VPN NoBorders mode on Windows

NoBorders mode aims to unblock every possible online resource. This includes geo-blocked content on streaming sites, social media, or anything that your government bans. These modes switch your tunneling protocol to OpenVPN with the XOR patch. It scrambles your traffic and makes it more difficult to detect through Deep Packet Inspection (DPI).

Surfshark Alert: ID protection feature

Alert is an innovative security solution for protecting your ID. This ID leak protection feature has been integrated into all client apps.

Surfshark Alert feature

It’s especially relevant in the age of data breaches because it warns users when their passwords, social security numbers, and other sensitive details get leaked. It comes as an additional service together with Search for $0.99/month.

This feature routinely scans leaked databases, looking for password and email matches. If it finds any, the user will receive a notification. Alert enables you to change your credentials on time, minimizing the damage caused by data leaks and breaches.

Surfshark Search: remove ads and tracking

Search is an alternative to the major search engines, such as Google or Bing, that are known for displaying ads and taking quite some of your data before giving away your search results.

Surfshark Search feature

This feature removes the ads and tracking from the organic search and ensures that your privacy remains intact and your patience untested.

This feature comes together with Alert and is offered as an optional “privacy beyond VPN” package. The price is $0.99/month, and I would say it’s worth the money, especially when Surfshark is among the cheapest VPNs you can get.

How does Surfshark’s GPS override feature work?

Also known as GPS spoofing, GPS override is a feature for Android uses who want to add an extra layer of protection. While a regular Virtual Private Network connection changes your IP address, GPS override also hides your device’s physical GPS location.

Surfshark for Android - GPS override feature

It’s an optional feature that is not on by default and can be enabled from Android app settings.

When activated, any app that will request the user’s physical coordinates will be overridden with the VPN server coordinates. So when a web service wants to access a user’s GPS data, it will see him in the US while, in fact, that person is in the UK.

Does Surfshark VPN support my device?

Very likely, yes. Surfshark has apps for all the major desktop and mobile platforms, including Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, and iOS. There are also dedicated apps for Android TV and Amazon Fire Stick & Fire TV. Finally, you can download browser extensions for Chrome and Firefox.

Surfshark apps and supported devices list

And here comes the best part: Surfshark VPN allows unlimited simultaneous connections. This means that you can protect all devices during the family reunion with one account. You don’t even have to manually configure it on your router, which would otherwise be the only way to connect as many devices as you want.

All apps are pretty similar across the platforms and also easy-to-use. The settings are well explained, so you can instantly decide if you want it turned on or off. And if you want to learn more, I recommend our article on how to use Surfshark.

Surfshark desktop apps: Windows, macOS, Linux

Regarding ease of use, the Surfshark desktop apps are as simple as A-B-C. The interface is clean and intuitive, while most settings can be found with a click of a button.

Surfshark Windows app connected example

Connecting to VPN servers is just as easy – just click on Locations on the left sidebar menu and choose your preferred location from the list of cities and countries. Physical servers are sorted by region, while virtual and P2P servers are on separate lists.

You can get under the app’s hood by pressing the white Settings gear. There, you can toggle the startup and auto-connection options, as well as tinker with the security features.

Surfshark Windows app Advanced Settings

Thankfully, the Mac app is just as secure as the Windows version. Both use military-grade encryption, kill switch, and other features. This is relatively rare – most VPNs release limited macOS apps, which is not the case with Surfshark.

The Linux app works with Ubuntu and Debian. It doesn’t feature a GUI and has a command-line interface instead. Moreover, its kill switch is turned off by default, and there’s no information on turning it on. This means that Linux users should either find a way to activate the kill switch themselves or ask live chat support for help.

Surfshark mobile apps: Android and iOS

Surfshark mobile apps, both on Android and iOS, are lightweight and simplified versions of their desktop counterparts. The security is almost as good as what you’d get on PC or Mac, with several minor caveats.

Most importantly, the Android version has its own kill switch, so you no longer have to use the native Android version or a third-party app to complement the Virtual Private Network. It also offers to turn on the Override GPS location feature, which hides your phone’s physical location.

Surfshark VPN on Android app example

You can get the Surfshark Android app from Google Play or just download it directly as an APK file from their website. The Surfshark iOS app is available from the App Store.

Surfshark for web browsers: Chrome and Firefox

Surfshark has browser extensions for Chrome and Firefox. They are essentially proxy services – you can use them to secure your browser traffic and nothing else. In other words, if you want to use torrents, try one of the regular clients or run the VPN some other way.

However, these browser extensions are not only about hiding your IP and encrypting your traffic. They also include the CleanWeb feature, which takes care of ads, tracking, malware, and phishing attempts. What’s more, both add-ons have been independently audited by Cure53 security testers.

The Chrome extension has been downloaded over 300,000 times, a number that’s dwarfed by the likes of ExpressVPN or NordVPN. Naturally, the Firefox version is even less popular, with just 35,000+ users.

Other platforms for Surfshark

In addition to the apps for major platforms, Surfshark VPN also has dedicated apps for Android TV and Amazon Fire Stick & Fire TV.

Additionally, its website has instructions for manually configuring your router, so you could use it to protect your entire home network. This provider supports a bunch of different models and makes, including DD-WRT, AsusWRT, OpenWRT, and Tomato, among others. You can also manually setup the VPN on Chromebook, pfSense, and Raspberry Pi.

Last but not least is the Smart DNS feature. It allows you to unblock websites and streaming platforms on your Apple TV, other smart TVs, and game consoles. With your PlayStation or Xbox, you will also be able to play online games in other regions.

How to install Surfshark on your device?

The process of downloading and installing Surfshark is pretty straightforward. You can get it from their website or, in case you’re using a smartphone, from Goole Play Store or Apple Store. In any case, you should start by purchasing the subscription.

Here’s what you need to do:

  1. Choose a plan and order the service
  2. Download the Surfshark app for your device
  3. Follow the installation instructions
  4. Open the app and log in
  5. Start using the VPN

Streaming with Surfshark

Surfshark is one of the best VPNs for streaming. It’s fast, has an Amazon Fire TV app, unblocks multiple Netflix libraries, and offers plenty of other streaming platforms.

Thanks to the Smart DNS feature, you will be able to stream your favorite shows and movies on a bunch of devices that don’t have the client app. This includes game consoles, Apple TV, LG TV, Samsung TV, and other smart TVs.

Netflix

Does Surfshark work with Netflix? According to its website, this VPN is great for Netflix and streaming other geo-blocked content. Well, it turns out to be true.

Live test how Surfshark VPN unblocks Netflix in UK

I’ve tested Surfshark for Netflix from Europe and found that it can unblock Netflix in every region I tried, including the US, the UK, Canada, and Japan libraries. I recommend choosing servers in these countries as they offer a wide selection of content.

Other streaming platforms

What’s more, Surfshark VPN can unblock Peacock, Hulu, Disney+, BBC iPlayer, Amazon Prime Video, and other streaming platforms. The speeds should be good enough to stream in 4K (UHD), thanks to the WireGuard tunneling protocol. Of course, the main factor will be your internet connection.

Besides, this VPN doesn’t have specialized streaming servers, so you can choose the one that works best for you.

Surfshark for Kodi

I would also recommend Surfshark for Kodi any day of the week. Actually, it’s among the best VPNs for Kodi in 2021, even though you have to configure it manually. Another option is to use the Zomboided VPN manager add-on.

For the best Kodi experience, you need a fast and secure VPN connection. Surfshark delivers in both categories, providing some of the industry’s best speeds together with military-grade encryption, a no-logs policy, and a reliable kill switch.

Amazon Fire TV and Fire Stick

Installing Surfshark on Fire Stick is an excellent choice. It will unblock virtually all streaming options while also securing your connection. This VPN has an app for Fire TV, which means setting it up will be a breeze.

Thanks to its extensive server list and exceptional performance, you should have no problem watching your favorite movies and TV shows in 4K video quality without buffering. Finally, Surfshark is great for Kodi, so you’ll be able to use both with your Fire device.

Surfshark and Twitch streaming

Surfshark is one of the top (if not the top) VPN for Twitch. You’ll be able to access this platform from anywhere in the world and steam anonymously. This VPN can deal with censorship (China) and IP bans in no time.

Furthermore, this service can help avoid bandwidth throttling, which is pretty common among the ISPs. When you turn on the VPN, they can’t tell what you’re doing online, so you get the full speed even while streaming.

Is Surfshark good for torrenting?

Surfshark is very good for torrents. Thanks to its WireGuard tunneling protocol, the speeds are very fast, and the security credentials almost faultless. You can also choose to protect only your P2P activities with the Whitelister (split tunneling).

This provider is not shy to invite torrenting fans to try their service, and it doesn’t discriminate against P2P traffic. Even more, they say that they are compatible with all P2P clients. Also Surfshark is in the best VPN for torrenting list.

Surfshark supported torrenting apps list

I liked that torrenting is allowed on all servers, and there are no bandwidth limits. What’s more, a Virtual Private Network located in a privacy-friendly jurisdiction and keeps no logs is always a good choice for P2P activities. There are also anonymous payment options for those who want extra safety.

Support: Surfshark live chat, FAQs, and installation guides

Surfshark VPN has great customer support. Here are your options when you need help:

  • 24/7 live chat
  • Submit a request
  • FAQ
  • Knowledge base

Surfshark VPN customer support options list

Their 24/7 live chat is excellent. The waiting times are short, if any, while the agents are helpful and polite. And I’m basing this assumption on more than a few instances.

Live test of Surfshark Customer Support online chat

Next, I tried submitting a request. The questions that I sent using the form were answered in a couple of hours or so. There was only one instance when it took longer to get an answer, but again, such response times are still a goal for many VPNs.

The FAQ is pretty short, with entries that link to dedicated support articles. There are about a hundred tutorial pages and more than fifty dedicated to general info and billing.

Overall, while Surfshark has considerably expanded its self-help section, I would still use live chat to put most of my concerns aside.

Should I get Surfshark?

After making a thorough investigation for this Surfshark review, I can confidently say that you should get this VPN before it raises its prices.

They’ve done well to cover the basics – security, jurisdiction, speed, support, etc. – and have taken steps in unique directions. Rarely do you see a paid Virtual Private Network with no limit to the number of simultaneous connections and a real zero-logs policy.

Between that, with an anonymous signup process, an option to pay in cryptocurrencies, and WireGuard support, Surfshark is already one step ahead of the competition. Here’s a quick list of its core strengths:

  • Excellent security and privacy
  • Breakneck speeds (WireGuard)
  • Great for streaming and P2P
  • Low prices

To me, it seems just a matter of time until we get more features and from Surfshark VPN that will further strengthen its already solid position among the industry’s best.

Surfshark FAQ

Is Surfshark a good VPN?

Surfshark is not a good VPN. It’s an excellent VPN. You would be hard-pressed to find top-notch protection and the best speeds for such a low price. Consider trying this service risk-free – it has a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Is Surfshark better than NordVPN?

Both Surfshark and NordVPN are top-class providers. We have them at the top of our best VPNs list. However, Surfshark is cheaper, so if you don’t see any feature that only NordVPN has, I recommend trying the former first.

Is Surfshark legal?

The answer to this question depends on the country and its laws. As of now, Surfshark VPN is illegal in Iran, Iraq, North Korea, Turkey, Turkmenistan, and Zimbabwe. VPNs are legal but regulated in Oman, Russia, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, and China. If you’re traveling to any of these countries, I strongly recommend installing the VPN on your devices before the visit.

How much does Surfshark VPN cost?

Surfshark is a cheap service. Its prices start from $2.49/month and the monthly option costs $12.95. Also, if you want the Alert and Search features, that’ll be $0.99 extra.

Where are the Surfshark server locations?

Surfshark has 3200+ RAM-only servers in 65+ countries, which is a pretty good global coverage. Almost two-thirds of those countries are in Europe, followed by over 10 in the Asia Pacific. The Americas and the Middle East have decent coverage as well, with at 10 and 5 countries respectively.

Where is Surfshark VPN based?

Surfshark is registered in the British Virgin Islands (BVI), a privacy-friendly jurisdiction with no data retention laws. BVI is not a part of the Fourteen Eyes intelligence alliance.

How do I know if Surfshark is working?

To test if Surfshark is working, you should check for IP and DNS leaks after connecting to a VPN server. There many leak testing sites, such as ipleak.net, available. If you see your real IP address instead of the server’s in the test results, that means your VPN is not working. However, this shouldn’t be the case with Surfshark because it features a robust DNS, IPv6, and WebRTC leak protection.

How to install Surfshark on Fire Stick?

You can install Surfshark VPN on Amazon Fire Stick and Fire TV by simply downloading the dedicated app and following installation instructions. One thing to note is that neither Virtual Private Network supports the 1st generation Amazon Fire devices.

How to stream Peacock (NBC) outside the US with Surfshark VPN?

You can stream Peacock outside the US with Surfshark VPN. Launched in 2020, this NBC Universal platform gives you Parks and Recreation, The Office, and other beloved series. To watch NBC’s Peacock, you simply have to launch the VPN and select any server in the US.

Good

  • Strong encryption
  • Excellent performance
  • Unlimited simultaneous connections
  • Almost zero logs
  • 24/7 live chat
  • Unlocks Netflix and other platforms
  • Great for torrenting
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • Supports plenty of platforms and devices

Bad

  • No-logs policy hasn't been audited
 9.4 / 10
Total score
$2.49 / month
Minimum Price
87 comments
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


  1. Nischal

    What’s the coupon code to get the $1.94/mo pricing? I’m trying to sign up via the link but I can’t get that pricing


    1. avatar
      Jan Youngren Author

      Dear Nischal,
      At the moment, Surfshark VPN is no longer offering a deal for its 3-year plan. In fact, the annual plan is unavailable as well. However, I’m sure they’ll be back in 2021. Happy New Year!


  2. Amarie

    Hello I just wanted to know will this VPN work so I can watch something that isn’t available in my region?


    1. avatar
      Jan Youngren Author

      Hey, Amarie. Surfshark VPN is one of the best services when it comes to streaming. It unblocks not only Netflix but other platforms as well. Highly recommended!


  3. Gessica

    Hi, does this vpn works with nowtv and amazon prime?


    1. Karol Wojcik

      Hello, Gessica. It sure does, happy streaming! 🙂


  4. John Doe

    Does the app still have ‘Invisible to devices’ in advanced settings? If so, how well does it work?


    1. avatar
      Jan Youngren Author

      Hi John!
      It sure does, and it sure does work well!


  5. ghost

    Unlimited simultaneous connections

    does this mead unlimited devices?????


    1. Steph

      Yes!


  6. Ana

    They recently added a server in my country, unfortunately it seems to be a virtual server as the latency/ping is too high… having said this they were able to refund me and i got my money back the next day.


  7. hal

    it’s been months that I have technical support for them to solve the VPN connection problem, I explain:
    I can’t connect with the vpn on certain public wifi carrying when I use other free vpn it works but vpn surfshark that I paid does not work


  8. SeanJohn

    Does not work with BBC Iplayer or BBC Sounds.
    Worst VPN provider I’ve ever had the misfortune to use.I had to write the money off and switch to a service that actually works.


    1. Benny

      Works fine for me, you should probably contact their support, maybe it’s a setup issue.


  9. Denis

    Thanks, VPNpro for a very useful and informative article.
    After reading it I’ve decided to try this provider. I’ve been blown by the service so far. Works great both on Android and on Chromebook. Providing fine speed and a security. The price is also cool for a 2 year subscription.


  10. Corey75

    Got this VPN during Black Friday and been using it ever since non-stop. I recently had a trip to China, so I was eager to see if the VPN would work, and I have to say, taking into consideration that China tries hard to block all the VPNs, Surfshark worked most of the times. I had a couple of glitches when it wasn’t able to bypass the blocks, but overall, I would say they did a pretty good job.


  11. Martin

    I purchased this, and they are not honouring their 30 day refund guarentee. If you cant trust them on what they have overly promised, how can you possibly rely on them to protect your confidentiality.
    Do not buy ,


    1. jim

      call your credit card and contest the charge and let them know the company isn’t honoring their guarantee and you should get your money back.


  12. Arty_W

    I recently found out that if you have an Android, you can use a GPS spoofing feature, which changes your GPS location according to what server you are connected to. I was eager to try it out, and it worked quite nicely. I didn’t notice any impact on my phone’s performance either.


  13. Thomas

    Don’t buy Surfshark services if you are in China. Surfshark VPN simply DOES NOT work in China.
    If you live in the USA and need a cheap VPN, why not. But if you are in China, I strongly advise against buying Surfshark VPN. I made the mistake myself, and after three months with intermittent to no connection through Surfshark VPN, I had to buy another VPN. I simply could not stay longer without access to the Internet. Surfshark says that they provide customer service to help you access the Internet: I have spent countless hours making technical operations on my iPhone and my laptop to try to have the service work, but it does not work. Surfhshark is down during weeks at a time, without the possibility to access to Internet.
    I usually don’t post reviews online, but I must say that my experience with Surfshark has been awful and I do not recommend using their services.
    After buying a new VPN, I requested a refund for my Surfshark service, since it does not work. They declined it, arguing that they could give technical support to help their VPN work. It simply does not work, regardless of the hours spent trying to make it work. I feel like I ordered a whole meal, and Surfshark only delivered the appetizer. It failed to deliver the main course, but refuses to refund the meal. Bad customer service.
    Go with other more serious and reliable VPN are you are in China.


    1. hal

      I totally agree with you even here in Canada does not work properly, do not buy surfshark it is a waste of money


    2. Kevin Marlowe

      Hi Thomas,

      Sorry you had this experience with Surfshark. A few months ago China stepped up their measures against VPN services and many of them have been struggling. Out of interest, you’ve tried their NoBorders/Camouflage modes and these didn’t help?


  14. charlie

    Hows this netflix thing work? Is it only if you have a netflix account, you can access content from other countries? Or do I get free netflix? I don’t have a netflix account so curious if this gets me access to it?


    1. Kevin Marlowe

      Hi charlie,

      A VPN subscription doesn’t get you free Netflix – you still need a subscription. What I’m referring to in the review are the issues of geo-blocking (different content libraries are available in different regions – using Surfshark you can access, say, the US library, giving you more content) and censorship/no service (Netflix is outright unavailable in some countries either due to censorship or simply there being no business deal in place).


  15. oMER

    I purchased the VPN service for two years. It worked fine for one month and then stopped working. I cannot connect from the country that I used. I contacted them several times and they couldn’t fix it. They didn`t give any refund, either.

    So, I paid over $100 for 2 years and only used the service for one month. They didn`t help at all.

    The only thing they tell me is that “We do not guarantee that service will work”

    AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!


    1. Kevin Marlowe

      Hi oMER,

      It’s unfortunate that you had this experience, however, are you sure the issue is not on your end? Surfshark is working just fine for me and has always worked fine.


  16. JuhaT

    Even though I already have a VPN that I am happy with I decided, thanks to the great price , to buy Surfshark for two years (you cant have to many VPNs you know 😉 ) this summer and have now used it quite alot since then.
    I havent experienced any downtime. I notice minimal drop on the speed when using swedish servers (I live in Sweden) Watching Netflix and iPlayer is no problem. I love the browser extension. Works fine on Android.
    Since I am mainly a Linux user I am not so happy about their Linux solution where you have to use the terminal to use it, they dont, like most of the VPN providers, have a GUI, cant even use it with network-manager which would be less cumbersome.
    But if you only use windows or/and Android it is a nice VPN (cant say anything about Mac since I dont have one) The price is just right and you get much for your money. Especially since they have had a independent audit you can be quite calm that they seem to deliver what they promise when it comes to privacy.


  17. Nate

    The fact that Surfshark agreed to do the independent audit means a lot to me. It means they trust their services and are willing to hear what they can improve. That’s what I want from a VPN.


  18. Peter

    Surfshark might be new but they have enough servers to offer good or great speed whenever you’re connecting from. I have tried them from different countries and it always connects fast and the speed is good most of the time.

Table of Contents:
Close
Get Surfshark VPN
Share
Share
Thanks for your opinion!
Your comment will be checked for spam and approved as soon as possible.
Surfshark VPN review
Surfshark VPN
9.4 / 10
Apps available:
windows macos ios linux firetv chrome firefox
Get Surfshark VPN